Join the Network on Monday, October 17, 2016, for the 9th Annual Barbara Seaman Awards for Activism in Women’s Health. We are pleased to announce our 2016 Awards Lifetime Honoree: Vivian W. Pinn, MD, former Director, Office of Research on Women’s Health. Our Emerging Activist Award Honoree will be Vanessa Schick, Assistant Professor, University of Texas School of Public Health. Our guest speaker will be Sandra Kim, Founder and Executive Director, Everyday Feminism.

Be a sponsor, donate, or purchase tickets to this year’s event.

The Barbara Seaman Awards for Activism in Women’s Health were established in honor of Barbara Seaman, a Network founding member, after her untimely death in 2008. The Awards recognize work that exemplifies the spirit and approach of Barbara, including her unwavering insistence on listening to women, her dogged determination to see abuses corrected and her bridge building between generations.


Guest Speaker

Sandra Kim 


Sandra Kim is the Founder and Executive Director of Everyday Feminism. Launched in June 2012, Everyday Feminism has become one of the most popular feminist digital media sites in the world, with a readership of 4.5 million monthly visitors from over 150 countries and a team of over 40 writers.

In 2013 and 2014, Sandra also developed and leads the online courses for Everyday Self-Love and Relationships, which helps people become free of toxic messages from systemic oppression and to practice being loving to themselves and others. In Spring 2016, Sandra developed the model for Compassionate Activism, which helps people address everyday oppression with love and justice, and is currently developing both in-person and online programs to make this model accessible.

As a person with multiple marginalized identities, she is committed to intersectional feminism that is focused on personal and social liberation for everyone. Sandra is also a board member of Brown Boi Project and a trained life coach from the Coaches Training Institute (CTI). Prior to Everyday Feminism, she worked in the nonprofit capacity building field, social entrepreneurship field, and anti-human trafficking movement and volunteered to work with sexual assault survivors, intimate partner violence survivors, and youth involved with gang-related activities.

Award Recipients

Vivian W. Pinn, MD 

Vivian W. Pinn, MD

In her role as the first Director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Dr. Vivian Pinn worked to ensure that women’s health was a high priority at NIH. The appointment heralded the culmination of her lifelong focus on quality healthcare for all.

From an early age, Dr. Pinn knew she wanted to be a doctor even though women doctors ‘were almost unheard of.’ She had helped care for her grandparents, even administering insulin shots for her grandmother, who had diabetes.

The daughter and granddaughter of teachers, Pinn’s family encouraged her to study hard so that she could reach her goals. She earned a scholarship to Wellesley College, graduating in 1963. She entered medical school at the University of Virginia, as the only African American and the only woman in her class. Dr. Pinn completed her residency in pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital in 1970, while she was also serving as a teaching fellow at Harvard Medical School.

In 1970, Dr. Pinn joined the faculty of Tufts University School of Medicine, where she also served as assistant dean for Student Affairs. In 1982, she moved to Washington, D.C., to become professor and chair of the department of pathology at Howard University College of Medicine.

In 1991, Dr. Pinn was appointed the first full-time director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health at the National Institutes of Health.

One of the objectives of the ORWH is to increase the number of women in leadership roles in research and academic institutions. At ORWH, Dr. Pinn helped develop a re-entry program to help trained scientists, both men, and women, who had interrupted their careers—due to family responsibilities, for example—to re-establish themselves in their fields.

Dr. Pinn has received numerous awards and honors. She was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1994. In 1995, she received the Elizabeth Blackwell Award from the American Medical Women’s Association, and that same year Dr. Pinn was elected to the Institute of Medicine.


Vanessa R. Schick, PhD

VanessaVanessa R. Schick is an Assistant Professor at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Public Health. Schick’s research centers on women’s health and focuses on sexual behavior between women and health disparities among non-monosexual (e.g., bisexual) women with a global interest in the advancement of the health and wellness of sexual and gender minority communities.  Her most recent research focuses on the needs of highly vulnerable and disenfranchised populations of women including those who have experiences in the criminal justice system, homelessness or sex work.

Since earning her doctorate in applied social psychology from The George Washington University, Schick has made many contributions to the field, including co-authoring over 70 peer-reviewed publications, and serving as a member of the team conducting research on the National Survey of Sexual Health and Behavior (NSSHB). Schick is the 2011 recipient of The American Sexually Transmitted Disease Association Developmental Award, the 2013 Outstanding Young Professional Award from the Population, Reproductive and Sexual Health Section of the American Public Health Association and is co-author of the trade book Read My Lips: A Complete Guide to the Vagina and Vulva. She is a co-founding researcher of The Montrose Research Institute, a community-academic research collaborative.

Before joining UT Health School of Public Health, she was an assistant research scientist at the Center for Sexual Health Promotion at Indiana University and is currently a research fellow at the Kinsey Institute. She teaches graduate-level courses on health disparities, cultural sensitivity, and survey design.



Monday, October 17, 2016, from 6-8 pm
The Whittemore House
1526 New Hampshire Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036

For information on Parking, Directions, Metro Accessibility visit this link: